PSGA Goodwin Deacon Star Award

Every year, we present this award to an individual who has made a lasting impact on the field of grantwriting in the Northwest. Nominations are submitted from the Puget Sound area grantwriting community and the award winner is selected by PSGA members or, in some cases, by the PSGA board.

The PSGA Star Award was renamed in honor of Goodwin Deacon, founder and Board Member Emerita of PSGA, on the occasion of her retirement from the board in January 2018.

The winners exemplify excellence in seeking, managing, and writing grants, maintain the highest ethics in their work, and demonstrate a generous spirit. They are individuals who give back to the field of grantwriting and the nonprofit community through such roles as teacher, mentor, volunteer, and leader.

Past award winners:

2019   Susan Howlett, Author, teacher and consultant; PSGA’s first administrator; Board Member Emerita

2018   Kimberly McKenney, Grants & Assessment Director, Children's Museum of Tacoma

2016    Parke Nietfeld, Parke Nietfeld Grantwriting Services

2015    Jeanette Privat, Nonprofit & Philanthropy Resource Center, King County Library System

2014    Kyoko Maruyama, Independent Grantwriter; Joyce Mork-O’Brien, Northstar Grant Services

2013    Sylvie McGee, All For A Good Cause Consulting

2012    Goodwin Deacon, Deacon Consulting

2010    Mary S. Hall, Ph.D., author

2009    Ken Ristine, Ben B. Cheney Foundation

Affiliations are current as of when the award was presented.