Goodwin Deacon Star Award

Every year, we present this award to an individual who has made a lasting impact on the field of grantwriting in the Northwest. Nominations are submitted from the Puget Sound area grantwriting community and the award winner is selected by PSGA members or, in some cases, by the PSGA board.

The PSGA Star Award was renamed in honor of Goodwin Deacon, founder and Board Member Emerita of PSGA, on the occasion of her retirement from the board in January 2018.

The winners exemplify excellence in seeking, managing, and writing grants, maintain the highest ethics in their work, and demonstrate a generous spirit. They are individuals who give back to the field of grantwriting and the nonprofit community through such roles as teacher, mentor, volunteer, and leader.

Past award winners:

2019 Susan Howlett, Author, teacher and consultant; PSGA’s first administrator; Board Member Emerita
2018 Kimberly McKenney, Grants & Assessment Director, Children’s Museum of Tacoma
2016 Parke Nietfeld, Parke Nietfeld Grantwriting Services
2015 Jeanette Privat, Nonprofit & Philanthropy Resource Center, King County Library System
2014 Kyoko Maruyama, Independent Grantwriter; Joyce Mork-O’Brien, Northstar Grant Services
2013 Sylvie McGee, All For A Good Cause Consulting
2012 Goodwin Deacon, Deacon Consulting
2010 Mary S. Hall, Ph.D., author
2009 Ken Ristine, Ben B. Cheney Foundation

Affiliations are current as of when the award was presented.